中文

Reed vs Solid-State Cylinder Switches: What Is the Difference — 4 Comparisons: Contacts and Life, Load and Wiring, Speed and Vibration, Price and Special Conditions

A reed type is a mechanical contact of two reeds sealed in a glass tube that close under a magnetic field; a solid-state type has a semiconductor output and no moving parts. Sources say the reed type is low-priced and can take AC loads, while the solid-state type acts faster, is more vibration-resistant, and its life is also written as longer. The difference is whether the switch contains a mechanical contact or electronic components. In this article, “reed type” means what the sources call a reed switch; “solid-state type” means what the sources call solid-state, and the types the sources list include Hall, AMR and GMR. The types discussed differ somewhat from source to source, and the article follows each source as written. It is divided into 4 comparisons:

  • Comparison ① | Contacts and life: the reed type is a mechanical contact with a limited number of operations; the solid-state type has no moving parts; life figures for the reed type vary widely between sources.

  • Comparison ② | Load and wiring: the reed type can take AC and DC loads and is two-wire; the solid-state type is usually three-wire and has protection circuits; high currents and inductive loads damage the reed type’s contacts.

  • Comparison ③ | Speed and vibration: sources say the reed type is slower and may be unstable under heavy vibration; the solid-state type is faster and more vibration-resistant; both types are mentioned as possibly having multiple switching points.

  • Comparison ④ | Price and special conditions: sources say the reed type is low-priced; above 85 °C and when a potential-free contact is needed, one source lists the reed type.

For an overall view of how to choose first, read “How to Choose a Reed Switch: 4 Stages of Type and Contact, Magnet and Operating Distance, Load and Electrical, Environment and Mounting“; this article compares the reed and solid-state types side by side, using a different set of sources. Each company’s data and the basis are in the notes at the end; this article does not replace the switch maker’s datasheet. This is the general case and still depends on the individual case.

Figure 1: The four comparisons between reed and solid-state magnetic switches: contacts and life, load and wiring, speed and vibration, price and special conditions (schematic, not to scale). Columns: reed type; solid-state type. ① Contacts and life — reed: mechanical contact, limited number of operations; solid-state: no moving parts, life written as longer. ② Load and wiring — reed: can take both AC and DC, two-wire; solid-state: usually three-wire, has protection circuits. ③ Speed and vibration — reed: slower action, may be unstable under heavy vibration; solid-state: faster action, more vibration-resistant. ④ Price and special conditions — reed: low price, high temperature and potential-free contacts; solid-state: views on price differ, one source says most applications prefer it.

Comparison ①: Contacts and life — the reed type has a limited number of operations, the solid-state type has no moving parts

How to look at it:

  • First write down: how many times a day the cylinder operates, and how many years it is expected to be used.

  • Life figures for the reed type differ between sources: source 3 writes 20 million to 50 million operations, source 4 writes 1 million to 2 million, source 5 writes usually at least 10 million, and source 6 writes several hundred thousand to several million; none of the quoted sentences give test conditions.

  • For the solid-state type, “unlimited cycles” (source 4), “theoretically almost unlimited” and a mean time to failure of 4077 years (source 3) are the sources’ own wording; the 4077 years comes from source 3 alone.

What public sources say:

  • An article in a manufacturing magazine (November 29, 2011; the name of a sensor company appears at the end of the article; source 1) says: a reed switch is a mechanical device with a limited number of operations and will eventually fail; a Hall sensor is an electronic device with no moving parts; many equipment manufacturers no longer use reed switches, and the reason it gives is the failure rate; AMR and GMR are more reliable.

  • A blog post by a sensor company (June 11, 2025; manufacturer’s claim; source 2) says: many equipment manufacturers no longer use reed switches, and the reason it gives is a higher failure rate; AMR and GMR have no moving parts and are more reliable over the long term (source 1 says something similar).

  • A blog post by a pneumatic components company (no date; manufacturer’s claim; source 3) says: the life of the reed type is 20 million to 50 million operations, and performance deteriorates over time, the reason it gives being that the metal reeds “stick”; the circuit of the solid-state type consists entirely of semiconductor components, with a mean time to failure of usually 4077 years, theoretically almost unlimited.

  • A technical page on a sensor company’s Taiwan website (no date; manufacturer’s claim; source 4) says: the reed is a mechanical reed contact, while AMR and GMR have a semiconductor output; for service life, reed is 1 million to 2 million cycles, and AMR and GMR “unlimited cycles”.

  • A guide from an online shop for pneumatic parts (date written as “06-12-2021”, format unclear; source 5) says: the reed type usually manages at least 10 million switching operations, but will still eventually fail after a finite number (notes table 1).

  • The second post on a Chinese-language technical forum of an electronic components distributor (June 17, 2026; source 6) says: a reed switch can withstand an operating life of several hundred thousand to several million operations (notes table 1).

Comparison ②: Load and wiring — the reed type takes both AC and DC, the solid-state type has protection circuits

How to look at it:

  • First write down: whether the load is DC or AC, how large the current is, and whether it is an inductive load (motor, relay coil).

  • The cable length figures come from source 3 alone; for current, source 3 writes an upper limit of 500 mA for the reed type and 100 mA for the solid-state type, and source 6 writes that some reed switches can exceed 1 A, and that voltage multiplied by current must not exceed the contact power rating.

  • Whether the solid-state type can take AC loads is not stated in these sources.

  • Protection circuits: source 3 writes that the solid-state type has them and the reed type does not; source 1 just writes that makers of the magnetoresistive type “often” add them; the strength of wording differs, and both are listed side by side.

What public sources say:

  • Source 1 says: the reed type can take AC and DC loads and needs no standby power; switching high-current loads shortens its life; makers of the magnetoresistive type often add output protection circuits, such as overload, short-circuit and reverse-polarity protection.

  • Source 2 says: reed switches are two-wire, and AMR and GMR are three-wire.

  • Source 3 says: the reed type has an upper current limit of 500 mA and an upper cable length of 10 m, with no overload, reverse-polarity or short-circuit protection; the solid-state type has an upper current limit of 100 mA and an upper cable length of 30 m, with overload, reverse-polarity and short-circuit protection, and is insensitive to inductive and capacitive loads; the reed type is “usually” used with AC (110/230 V).

  • Source 5 says: the reed type can take AC or DC loads and needs no standby power; solid-state (AMR, GMR, HE) is “usually” three-wire, and reed two-wire; AMR usually draws power continuously; high-current loads shorten the life of the reed type.

  • Two posts on a Chinese-language technical forum of an electronic components distributor (June 17, 2026; source 6) say: the arc at the moment of switching has a large effect on wear of reed switch contacts, eroding the contact material, and in severe cases welding the contacts so they cannot open; some reed switches can exceed 1 A, and voltage multiplied by current must not exceed the contact power rating; with inductive loads such as motors and relay coils, a high-voltage surge is generated across the coil when it opens, forming an arc between the contacts (notes table 2).

Comparison ③: Speed and vibration — sources say the reed type is slower, the solid-state type faster and more vibration-resistant

How to look at it:

  • First write down: the operating frequency of the cylinder; whether there is noticeable vibration and shock on site.

  • For speed and vibration, none of these sources give figures.

  • Multiple switching points: source 1 writes that both low-priced reed switches and some low-priced Hall sensors may show them; source 4 writes that GMR and reed “may have several switching points”; the two discuss somewhat different types, and the article lists them side by side.

What public sources say:

  • Source 1 says: reed switches act relatively slowly; installed in high-vibration, high-shock applications, contact bounce may occur; low-priced reed switches sometimes show multiple switching points as the two lobes of certain magnets pass; Hall sensors act faster and are more resistant to vibration and shock, while some low-priced ones are prone to double switching; AMR and GMR are smaller and faster.

  • Source 2 says: AMR and GMR are smaller and faster (source 1 says something similar).

  • Source 4 says: in the row “response to strong magnetic fields” of its comparison table, both GMR and reed are marked “may have several switching points”.

  • Source 5 says: the reed type is relatively slow and may perform poorly in high-speed applications; it may be unstable in applications with high vibration and shock frequency; electromagnetic sensors act quickly, have no mechanical parts that wear, and have much higher tolerance of vibration and shock (notes table 3).

Comparison ④: Price and special conditions — sources say the reed type is low-priced

How to look at it:

  • First write down: the upper limit of the budget; the upper limit of the ambient temperature; whether the control side needs an electronic output or a potential-free contact.

  • Price: sources 1 and 5 write that the reed type is inexpensive; source 2 writes that the initial cost of AMR and GMR may be slightly higher, with a small difference; source 5 also writes that AMR is cost-competitive; none give amounts.

  • “Above 85 °C”, “potential-free contact” and “90% of applications prefer the solid-state type” come from source 3 alone, and are the manufacturer’s estimates.

What public sources say:

  • Source 1 says: reed switches are low-priced.

  • Source 2 says: the initial cost of AMR and GMR may be slightly higher than reed switches, but the difference is small.

  • Source 3 says: the reed type is “usually” used when the ambient temperature exceeds 85 °C; when a potential-free contact is needed, the reed type is the choice it recommends; it estimates that 90% of applications prefer the solid-state type.

  • Source 5 says: the reed type is inexpensive to buy and install; AMR is cost-competitive; the reed type is still very common and can be used for most general applications (notes table 4).

Comparison table: the four comparisons at a glance

ItemReed typeSolid-state type
Contacts and lifeMechanical contact, limited number of operations; life figures vary widely between sourcesNo moving parts; life written as longer (the sources’ wording)
Load and wiringCan take both AC and DC loads; two-wire; high currents and inductive loads damage the contactsUsually three-wire; has protection circuits; whether it can take AC is not stated in the sources
Speed and vibrationSources say slower action, may be unstable under heavy vibrationSources say faster action, more vibration-resistant
Price and special conditionsSources say low-priced; above 85 °C and when a potential-free contact is needed, a source lists it as a choiceViews on price differ; one source estimates that most applications prefer the solid-state type

Source: notes tables 1 to 4 (sources 1 to 6). These are the sources’ statements, not selection thresholds.

How to choose: when to look at the reed type, when to look at the solid-state type

Based on public sources, the views on the two can be divided like this (the sources’ statements sorted into four situations; this is this article’s own summary):

  • When to look at the reed type: the budget needs to be kept down (sources 1, 5); AC loads need to be connected (sources 1, 3, 5); the ambient temperature exceeds 85 °C (source 3); a potential-free contact is needed (source 3); the wiring needs to be two-wire (sources 2, 5).

  • When to look at the solid-state type: cylinders that move fast and operate many times (sources 1, 2, 5); heavy vibration and shock (sources 1, 5); you want to avoid contact wear and sticking (sources 2, 3, 4, 5); the load is inductive or capacitive (source 3); protection circuits are wanted (sources 1, 3).

  • Points to read carefully: the life figures for the reed type differ widely between sources 3, 4, 5 and 6, and none of the quoted sentences give test conditions; sources 1 and 2 are both related to the same sensor company, and do not count as two independent statements; the solid-state type covers Hall, AMR and GMR, and the sources discuss different types; all 6 sources are manufacturer, distributor or website articles, with no third-party testing.

  • Near the boundary: an AC load must be connected, and the operation is also frequent or the vibration heavy. The sources assign AC loads to the reed type and frequent operation and vibration to the solid-state type (sources 1, 3, 5), but give no boundary for this combination; please follow the switch maker’s datasheet.

These are statements in public sources, not a conclusion about your site; which type to choose depends on your load, number of operations and site conditions.

What Jiahon Can Help With:

On the reed side:

On the solid-state side:

When you need to match a type, please first prepare six items of information: the voltage, current and kind of load (DC or AC, inductive or resistive); the operating frequency of the cylinder; the vibration, shock and temperature on site; how the controller input is wired (two-wire or three-wire, NPN or PNP); the type of sensor slot on the cylinder; the switch currently in use and the problems encountered. You are welcome to contact Jiahon.

Notes: sources and exceptions

The following is for readers who need to check; skipping it does not affect the approach above. Where the switch maker’s datasheet, or the load, number of operations, vibration and temperature at your site differ from this article, follow them.

Where each comparison comes from

SourceWhere it is used, and the source
Source 1Comparisons ①②③④: structure and life, load and protection, speed and vibration, price. Source: an article in a manufacturing magazine (November 29, 2011; personal byline; a job title and the name of a sensor company appear at the end of the article)
Source 2Comparisons ①②③④: failure and reliability, wiring, speed, initial cost. Source: a blog post by a sensor company (June 11, 2025; bylined as the company’s Americas region; manufacturer’s claim; promotional; another language version of the page is marked July 15, 2025 in its list of related articles)
Source 3Comparisons ①②④: life, current and cable length, high temperature and potential-free contacts. Source: a blog post by a pneumatic components company (no date; no byline; manufacturer’s claim; promotional)
Source 4Comparisons ①③: types and life, strong magnetic fields. Source: a technical page on a sensor company’s Taiwan website (no date; just a footer copyright year of 2026; manufacturer’s claim)
Source 5Comparisons ①②③④: life, load and wiring, speed and vibration, price and prevalence. Source: a guide from an online shop for pneumatic parts (personal byline; date written as “06-12-2021”, format unclear; the page looks like a shop, and does not state whether it is a distributor; promotional)
Source 6Comparisons ①②: operating life, switching current and arcing, inductive loads. Source: two posts on a Chinese-language technical forum of an electronic components distributor, the first post and the second post (June 17, 2026; signed by a forum account; covers reed switches alone)
Jiahon data“What Jiahon Can Help With”. Source: the name text on Jiahon’s product pages

Table 1 | Contacts and life

ItemContent
Structure and number of operationsA reed switch is a mechanical device with a limited number of operations and will eventually fail; a Hall sensor is an electronic device with no moving parts; many equipment manufacturers no longer use reed switches, and the reason it gives is the failure rate; AMR and GMR are more reliable (source 1)
Failure and reliabilityMany equipment manufacturers no longer use reed switches, and the reason it gives is a higher failure rate; AMR and GMR have no moving parts, a more durable approach that is more reliable over the long term (source 2; source 1 says something similar)
LifeThe life of the reed type is 20 million to 50 million operations, and performance deteriorates over time, the reason it gives being that the metal reeds “stick”; moving parts wear; the entire circuit of the solid-state type is made of semiconductor components, with a mean time to failure of usually 4077 years, theoretically almost unlimited (source 3)
Types and lifeThe reed is a mechanical reed contact, while AMR and GMR have a semiconductor output; for service life, reed is 1 million to 2 million cycles, and AMR and GMR “unlimited cycles” (source 4)
LifeThe reed type usually manages at least 10 million switching operations, but will still eventually fail after a finite number; high-current loads also shorten its life; solid-state sensors have no mechanical parts that wear (source 5)
LifeA reed switch can withstand an operating life of several hundred thousand to several million operations (source 6)

Sources: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

Table 2 | Load and wiring

ItemContent
Load and protectionThe reed type can take AC and DC loads and needs no standby power; switching high-current loads shortens its life; makers of the magnetoresistive type often add output protection circuits, such as overload, short-circuit and reverse-polarity protection (source 1)
WiringReed switches are two-wire, and AMR and GMR are three-wire (source 2)
Current, cable length and protectionThe reed type has an upper current limit of 500 mA and an upper cable length of 10 m, with no overload, reverse-polarity or short-circuit protection; the solid-state type has an upper current limit of 100 mA and an upper cable length of 30 m, with overload, reverse-polarity and short-circuit protection, and is insensitive to inductive and capacitive loads; the reed type is “usually” used with AC (110/230 V) (source 3)
Load, wiring and power drawThe reed type can take AC or DC loads and needs no standby power; solid-state (AMR, GMR, HE) is “usually” three-wire, and reed two-wire; AMR usually draws power continuously; high-current loads shorten the life of the reed type (source 5)
Switching current and arcingThe switching current of a reed switch is the current the contacts carry at the moment they close or open; the arc at the moment of switching has a large effect on contact wear, eroding the contact material, and in severe cases welding the contacts so they cannot open; some reed switches can exceed 1 A, and voltage multiplied by current must not exceed the contact power rating (source 6)
Inductive loadsWith inductive loads such as motors and relay coils, a high-voltage surge is generated across the coil when it opens, forming an arc between the contacts (source 6)

Sources: 1, 2, 3, 5, 6

Table 3 | Speed and vibration

ItemContent
Speed, vibration and switching pointsReed switches act relatively slowly; installed in high-vibration, high-shock applications, contact bounce may occur; low-priced reed switches sometimes show multiple switching points as the two lobes of certain magnets pass; Hall sensors act faster and are more resistant to vibration and shock, while some low-priced ones are prone to double switching; AMR and GMR are smaller and faster (source 1)
SpeedAMR and GMR are smaller and faster (source 2; source 1 says something similar)
Strong magnetic fieldsIn the row “response to strong magnetic fields” of its comparison table, both GMR and reed are marked “may have several switching points” (source 4)
Speed and vibrationThe reed type is relatively slow and may perform poorly in high-speed applications; it may be unstable in applications with high vibration and shock frequency; electromagnetic sensors act quickly, have no mechanical parts that wear, and have much higher tolerance of vibration and shock (source 5)

Sources: 1, 2, 4, 5

Table 4 | Price and special conditions

ItemContent
PriceReed switches are low-priced (source 1)
Initial costThe initial cost of AMR and GMR may be slightly higher than reed switches, but the difference is small (source 2)
High temperature, potential-free contacts and preferenceThe reed type is “usually” used when the ambient temperature exceeds 85 °C; when a potential-free contact is needed, the reed type is the choice it recommends; it estimates that 90% of applications prefer the solid-state type (source 3)
Price and prevalenceThe reed type is inexpensive to buy and install; AMR is cost-competitive; the reed type is still very common and can be used for most general applications (source 5)

Sources: 1, 2, 3, 5

This is the general case and still depends on the individual case.

Exceptions and limits

  • What was seen and what was not: this article saw 1 article in a manufacturing magazine (November 29, 2011, personal byline, a job title and the name of a sensor company appear at the end of the article), 1 blog post by a sensor company (June 11, 2025, bylined as the company’s Americas region, manufacturer’s claim, promotional; another language version of the page is marked July 15, 2025 in its list of related articles), 1 blog post by a pneumatic components company (no date, no byline, manufacturer’s claim, promotional), 1 technical page on a sensor company’s Taiwan website (no date, just a footer copyright year of 2026, manufacturer’s claim), 1 guide from an online shop for pneumatic parts (personal byline, date written as “06-12-2021”, format unclear; the page looks like a shop and does not state whether it is a distributor, promotional), and 2 posts on a Chinese-language technical forum of an electronic components distributor (June 17, 2026, signed by a forum account, covering reed switches alone). All 6 sources are manufacturer, distributor or website articles; no third-party testing of the reed and solid-state types was found, and no standard text was found either. No Taiwanese price, supply or manufacturer data was found, nor any measured data for the two types on the same cylinder; source 2 does not discuss AC/DC, vibration, number of operations or temperature; source 3 does not discuss speed, vibration or price; in source 4’s comparison table, the cells for response time, sensitivity, temperature stability, sensitivity to piston vibration and others are icons, and their text cannot be read; source 6 discusses reed switches alone, with no solid-state type. Items not listed in the tables were not seen in the content read, which does not mean the sources do not mention them.

  • Figures in the text: the figures quoted in the text are: reed type life of 20 million to 50 million operations (source 3), 1 million to 2 million (source 4), usually at least 10 million (source 5), several hundred thousand to several million (source 6) — some sources write “million” and some write in Chinese units of ten thousand; here the figures are just written in English notation, with the quantities unchanged; a mean time to failure of 4077 years for the solid-state type (source 3); upper current limits of 500 mA for the reed type and 100 mA for the solid-state type, and upper cable lengths of 10 m and 30 m (source 3); some reed switches can exceed 1 A (source 6); AC 110/230 V, an ambient temperature of 85 °C, 90% of applications (source 3); and the dates of each piece. Units are as given in the sources, without conversion.

  • Differences between sources: first confirm that both sides are discussing the same thing, then look at the strength of wording; 6 items in all, listed below.

  • How many operations a reed type can make: source 3 (20 million to 50 million), source 4 (1 million to 2 million), source 5 (usually at least 10 million) and source 6 (several hundred thousand to several million) all discuss the number of operations of a reed switch, and the figures differ widely; none of the quoted sentences give test conditions, and source 1 gives no figure. The article lists them side by side and does not combine them into one figure.

  • Life of the solid-state type: source 4 writes “unlimited cycles”, source 3 writes “theoretically almost unlimited” and a mean time to failure of 4077 years, source 5 writes that there are no mechanical parts that wear, and source 2 writes more reliable over the long term; these are each company’s statements, not measurements; all discuss the solid-state type, with differing strength of wording.

  • Protection circuits of the solid-state type: source 3 writes that the solid-state type has overload, reverse-polarity and short-circuit protection, while source 1 just writes that makers of the magnetoresistive type “often” add this kind of protection; they discuss the same thing, with differing strength of wording.

  • Price: sources 1 and 5 write that the reed type is inexpensive; source 2 writes that the initial cost of AMR and GMR may be slightly higher, with a small difference; source 5 writes that AMR is cost-competitive; all discuss the price of the reed type versus AMR and GMR, none gives an amount, and the strength of wording differs.

  • Multiple switching points: source 1 writes that both low-priced reed switches and some low-priced Hall sensors may show them; source 4 writes that GMR and reed “may have several switching points”; they discuss the same thing, but the types covered are not fully the same (source 4’s AMR cell is an icon, and its text cannot be read). The article lists them side by side and does not combine them into one rule.

  • Sources 1 and 2 are both related to the same sensor company (a job title and the company name appear at the end of source 1); their statements are similar, and they do not count as two independent statements.

  • Single source: the cable length figures, 85 °C, potential-free contacts, 90% of applications (source 3); the mean time to failure of 4077 years (source 3); switching arcs, contact welding and surges from inductive loads, some reed switches exceeding 1 A and the voltage-times-current limit (source 6); reed types sometimes showing multiple switching points, and contact bounce (source 1); AMR usually drawing power continuously (source 5).

  • Sources with a position: all 6 sources are manufacturer, distributor or website articles; no third-party testing of the reed and solid-state types was found, and no standard text was found either, so the statements can serve just as illustrative examples. Source 3’s “90% of applications” is the manufacturer’s own estimate; sources 1 and 2 are both related to the same sensor company and do not count as two independent statements. Source 1 is a 2011 article and older; for products, follow current data. Sources 3 and 4 have no date; the date format of source 5 is unclear.

  • Wording of the sources: sources 1, 2, 3 and 5 are in English, and the statements above are this article’s paraphrase, not the sources’ exact sentences; sources 4 and 6 are in Chinese; units are as given in the sources, without conversion.

  • Scope: in this article, the reed type means what the sources call a reed switch; the solid-state type means what the sources call solid-state (the types the sources list include Hall, AMR and GMR, and the types discussed differ somewhat from source to source); cross-references between makers’ models, prices and lead times are not discussed; standards were not consulted.

  • Selection summary: this article is a selection summary and does not replace the switch maker’s datasheet; it just relays the statements of public sources and does not say “which type is better”. Load, number of operations, vibration and temperature should follow the site and the maker’s data.

  • Equipment and products: “What Jiahon Can Help With” takes just the name text of the product pages, and does not quote specifications, prices, or certification and compliance wording from the product pages; one page is linked on each side; the current, cable length and other figures in the text come from the sources (mostly the statements of source 3 alone), and are not the specifications of these two Jiahon product pages; for the specifications and stock of each model, please inquire, and follow the data confirmed by sales.

  • This article’s own summary: each statement can be matched to the sources in the notes. The “How to choose” section (with “this is this article’s own summary” added at the start) sorts the sources’ statements into “when to look at the reed type”, “when to look at the solid-state type”, “points to read carefully” and “near the boundary”; it is a summary, not the sources’ sentences, and it states that the sources give no boundary for when AC loads, frequent operation and vibration occur together. The first point of “How to look at it” in each comparison (the items to write down first) is an approach, not a source statement. The opening “a reed type is a mechanical contact of two reeds sealed in a glass tube that close under a magnetic field; a solid-state type has a semiconductor output and no moving parts. Sources say the reed type is low-priced and can take AC loads, while the solid-state type acts faster, is more vibration-resistant, and its life is also written as longer” is summarized from sources 1 and 4 (structure), sources 1 and 5 (price), sources 1, 3 and 5 (AC), sources 1, 2 and 5 (speed), sources 1 and 5 (vibration resistance), and sources 2, 3, 4 and 5 (life); “the difference is whether the switch contains a mechanical contact or electronic components” is generalized from the comparisons; the scope statement of this article (reed type means reed switch, solid-state type means solid-state) is this article’s own explanation; the rows of the table are summarized from the comparisons.

Back to top