To choose a lift cart, first settle the load and lift type (the maximum weight to move, how high it must lift, and what mechanism lifts it). Then look at power and control (manual or electric, power supply, speed, and how it lowers on power loss), next at size and safety (platform size, minimum height, where the load sits, pinch protection and emergency stop), and finally at site and maintenance (floor, brakes, pre-use checks, servicing).
This article focuses on material lift carts, lift platform carts and lift workbenches for handling and work in factories and warehouses; aerial work platforms that carry people, forklifts and fixed lifts are outside its scope. It starts from the point where you already know you need a lift cart. Each stage below covers what to do, what public sources say and how JIAHON can help; sources are listed in the notes at the end.
Stage 1 | Load and lift type: write down what moves, how heavy, how high
What to do
- First write down: what is moved, from where to where, how many times a day; include the container in the load.
- Load: base it on the heaviest single load, plus some margin (one source’s example adds about 20%).
- Lift height: look at minimum and maximum platform heights, so the work position is at a comfortable height for the operator (one source’s example is 70–90 cm).
- Type: scissor types raise the platform on crossed arms and mainly lift vertically; screw types lift by turning a screw.
- Read load capacity and lift height together with platform size; larger platforms usually carry more.
What public sources say
An industrial equipment marketplace buyer’s guide (published 2019, revised 2024) says lift table capacities cover a wide range, from 100 kg to 4 tonnes in its example; the larger the platform, the higher the capacity; lift height depends on the platform’s lowest and highest positions. An industrial supplies online store’s selection page (July 2026) says to take the heaviest load and add about 20% margin, and to bring the work edge to about 70–90 cm. A lift table maker’s selection page (7 May 2026) says to determine the maximum weight on the platform and choose the amount of vertical travel. An online encyclopedia entry says scissor mechanisms can be hydraulic, pneumatic or mechanical (screw or rack); the arms cross to form a linkage, and applying force to the lower set raises the platform. Another encyclopedia entry says turning a handle extends a screw from the base, raising the load on the platform; screws have high friction, and the actual mechanical advantage is often only 30–50% of the theoretical value (notes, table 1).
How JIAHON can help
- Electric hydraulic lift platform cart: the product page describes a carbon steel scissor-type hydraulic lift platform cart with 150 kg capacity and a 700 × 450 mm platform; standard platform height 210–720 mm, with a raised version up to 1260 mm; lifting by electric hydraulics (hydraulic power unit plus cylinder). Standard external dimensions 950 × 450 × 850 mm.
- Hand-crank lift workbench: the page describes a screw-type hand-crank workbench: turning the handwheel drives an X-shaped linkage via a screw, with table height 700–900 mm (about 200 mm travel); table 800 × 500 mm, uniformly distributed load 50 kg; other sizes made to order. Material and foot types are also given on the page.
Stage 2 | Power and control: manual or electric, and is there power on site?
What to do
- Power: hand crank, foot pump, electric hydraulic or battery, depending on how many lifts a day and whether there is power on site.
- Power supply: check the site supply first; some models don’t reach catalogue speed on single-phase power.
- Speed and cycles: frequent short jogging may need a special power unit; ask the maker.
- Control: hand pendant, foot control or wall panel, placed so the operator can see the platform.
- On power loss or failure: hydraulic or pneumatic models can lower the platform with a manual valve; confirm this.
What public sources say
The buyer’s guide (2019, revised 2024) says common lift table designs use hydraulic cylinders, some pneumatic cylinders, and mechanical types use trapezoidal-thread screws and push chains; electric types allow free adjustment of lift height; manual lift tables mostly carry 250–500 kg. The online store’s page (July 2026) says foot pumps need no mains power and little maintenance, electric hydraulics use mains power, and battery drives are fully mobile — it depends on how often you lift. The lift table maker’s page (7 May 2026) says higher horsepower usually means faster lifting; controls include hand pendants, guarded foot controls and wall-mounted panels. A lift maker’s application guide (October 2013) says some models don’t reach catalogue speed on single-phase current; speeds over 24 feet per minute need more sophisticated speed reduction; many short jogging cycles may need a special power unit. The encyclopedia entry says hydraulic or pneumatic models have a manual valve to return the platform to the ground; electric scissor lifts have smaller tires and can be charged from a standard outlet (notes, table 2).
How JIAHON can help
- Electric sensing material lift cart: the page describes a sensor that detects material height — it lowers as boxes are added and rises as they are removed, with pick height set on the control box; two versions, 30 kg and 80 kg; platform lift height 750 mm, lift speed 50 mm/s; powered by a DC 24 V, 12 Ah battery (the 30 kg version also has a plug-in version); one button starts automatic lifting, and the 80 kg version can also lower fully with one button.
- Electric automatic lift truck: the page lists 150 kg capacity with sensors detecting material height for automatic lifting, in flat-platform and fork types: the flat type lifts 200–850 mm and can switch to manual inching; the fork type lifts 130–1050 mm. Power: the flat type DC 24 V, 60 Ah (battery or plug-in versions), the fork type AC 220 V or DC 24 V, 12.3 Ah. The page also notes it is a push-along lift cart, not a forklift for loading racks.
- The electric hydraulic lift platform cart from stage 1: the page lists a 24 V lead-acid battery, with an automatic sensing version (lowers as material is added, rises as it is removed, also switchable to manual) and a manual button-only version.
- Lift speed (other than the 50 mm/s above), how the platform is lowered on power loss or failure, and the control methods of other models are not given on these pages; please ask.
Stage 3 | Size and safety: the load fits, the center of gravity is in the middle, hands stay out
What to do
- Platform size: the load must fit, within the platform edges.
- Center the load: put the center of gravity in the middle of the platform; makers’ manuals specify how much of the deck the load must be spread over.
- Minimum height: check the lowered height to know whether you can load from near floor level.
- External dimensions: measure aisles, doors and elevators first.
- Hands and feet: keep them out of the scissor mechanism.
- Protection: pinch protection, overload protection, descent stop and emergency stop — ask the maker whether they are fitted and where.
What public sources say
The online store’s page (July 2026) says the deck must fit the load, with standard sizes from about 700 × 450 mm for small parts to 1300 × 800 mm and larger for Euro pallets; the minimum lowered height decides whether a pallet truck can get underneath; the load’s center of gravity should be in the middle of the platform to maintain rated capacity and load the scissor bearings evenly; lift tables should have safety features such as pinch protection and descent stop, citing European standard EN 1570-1. Two scissor lift table makers’ manuals (one dated 2015, one undated) say not to put hands or feet into the scissor mechanism; one says the load should be spread over at least 80% of the deck. The encyclopedia entry says good industry practice is to fit emergency stop buttons at least on the platform and the base (the entry is about aerial work platforms); weight sensors prevent the platform from rising when the rated load is exceeded (notes, table 3).
How JIAHON can help
- Platform size and minimum height, as stated on the product pages: electric hydraulic lift platform cart 700 × 450 mm platform, minimum 210 mm; hand-crank lift workbench 800 × 500 mm table, minimum 700 mm; electric sensing material lift cart platform 650 × 550 mm (30 kg) and 750 × 450 mm (80 kg); electric automatic lift truck load surface 450 × 650 mm (flat type) and a 600 × 250 mm U-shaped fork (fork type). The electric sensing material lift cart page also says boxes up to 610 × 420 mm fit both versions.
- External dimensions (measure before passing aisles, doors and elevators): electric sensing material lift cart 900 × 600 × 900 mm (30 kg) and 1050 × 700 × 1100 mm (80 kg); electric automatic lift truck W 650 × L 750 × H 1100 mm (flat type) and W 500 × L 800 × H 1400 mm (fork type).
- Pinch protection, overload protection, descent stop and emergency stop: none of these four pages mentions them; please ask, with the load’s size and weight and the width of the aisles it must pass.
Stage 4 | Site and maintenance: level floor, brakes on when loading, check before use
What to do
- Floor: a level, firm floor; for slopes or uneven floors, ask the maker whether it can be used.
- Brakes: brake the cart when loading so it can’t move; don’t move the cart with the load raised.
- Pre-use checks: follow the items in the maker’s manual; don’t use it if anything is abnormal.
- Servicing: do it with the cart unloaded; follow the manual for lubrication, oil level and oil change intervals.
- Charging: for electric versions, check the charging location and outlet first.
- People: operators should be trained; checks can be made into a checklist.
What public sources say
The two scissor lift table manuals (one dated 2015, one undated) say to use them only on level, firm floors (the 2015 manual also says not to use them on slopes or uneven floors); brake when loading so it doesn’t move; don’t move it with a load raised; check before use and don’t use it if faulty; do servicing and routine checks unloaded; one gives the example of lubricating all points monthly and changing hydraulic oil every 12 months. The encyclopedia entry says most users check against a list before each use; manufacturers recommend regular maintenance; most operating rules call for training every operator; electric versions can be charged from a standard outlet. The online store’s page (July 2026) says foot pumps need less maintenance and electric versions more care (notes, table 4).
How JIAHON can help
- Wheels and brakes, as stated on the product pages: electric hydraulic lift platform cart Ø100 mm wheels, two swivel braked casters plus two fixed casters; electric sensing material lift cart PU wheels with brakes; electric automatic lift truck rear braked wheels (flat type) and four casters with front brakes (fork type).
- Own weight (affecting floor and elevator loads): electric hydraulic lift platform cart 80 kg; electric sensing material lift cart 40 kg (30 kg version) and 90 kg (80 kg version); electric automatic lift truck 100 kg (flat type) and 80 kg (fork type).
- Batteries: the pages give battery specifications (24 V lead-acid, DC 24 V 12 Ah, 60 Ah, 12.3 Ah) and which versions have plug-in options; charging location, time and battery life are not given; please ask.
- Floor and slope limits, pre-use check items, servicing and lubrication intervals and hydraulic oil changes: none of these four pages gives them; please ask, with the floor and slope of the site, the power location and frequency of use.
To match a type, please prepare six items: load weight and size; how high it must lift; how many lifts a day; the power supply on site; the floor and aisles; and the operators and safety requirements. Then contact JIAHON or email [email protected].
Notes: sources and limitations
These notes are for readers who want to check the sources. Where your site rules, the equipment maker’s written specifications or safety rules differ from this article, follow them.
| Source | Used for | Reference |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Stages 1–4: scissor mechanism, manual lowering valve, charging, emergency stop and overload, checklists and training | Online encyclopedia entry on scissor lifts (multi-author, subject to change; mainly about aerial work platforms carrying people) |
| 2 | Stage 1: screw lifting and efficiency | Online encyclopedia entry on jackscrews (multi-author, subject to change) |
| 3 | Stages 1, 2: capacity range, lift height, drive types | Industrial equipment marketplace buyer’s guide (published 29 August 2019, revised 18 March 2024; marketplace material) |
| 4 | Stages 1–4: margin, working height, power choice, platform size, minimum height, center of gravity, safety features, maintenance | Industrial supplies online store’s lift table guide (page dated July 2026; distributor material) |
| 5 | Stages 1, 2: items to decide, horsepower, controls | Lift table maker’s selection page (7 May 2026; maker’s blog) |
| 6 | Stage 2: power supply, speed and reduction, duty cycle | Lift maker’s scissor lift table application guide (on a magazine website, 30 October 2013; maker’s article, older) |
| 7 | Stages 3, 4: load distribution, hands and feet, floor, brakes, pre-use checks, service intervals | Scissor lift table maker’s manual (copyright 2015, no revision; file hosted on a distributor’s site) |
| 8 | Stages 3, 4: load distribution, hands and feet, floor, pre-use checks, unloaded servicing | Another scissor lift table series manual (undated, no revision; file hosted on a distributor’s site) |
| JIAHON | “How JIAHON can help” | JIAHON product pages |
Limitations
- Read: two online encyclopedia entries (multi-author; one mainly about aerial work platforms), a marketplace buyer’s guide (2019, revised 2024), an online store’s selection page (July 2026), a lift table maker’s blog (May 2026), a lift maker’s application guide (2013) and two scissor lift table makers’ manuals (one 2015, one undated).
- Figures are examples or the makers’ own statements, not selection thresholds: about 20% margin, 70–90 cm work edge, 100 kg to 4 tonnes, 250–500 kg for manual types, 700 × 450 and 1300 × 800 mm platforms, 24 feet per minute, load over at least 80% of the deck, monthly lubrication and hydraulic oil every 12 months, and 30–50% screw mechanical advantage. Sources 4–8 are distributors and makers describing their own approaches.
- Sources differ: source 1’s scissor lifts are mainly aerial work platforms carrying people, so only the common points on mechanism, controls and emergency stop are used; the capacity range for material lift tables is taken from source 3. Source 2 says screws are generally self-locking but also that ball screws are not, so self-locking is not stated in the text.
- Single-source points: centering the load, pinch protection and descent stop citing EN 1570-1, minimum lowered height and foot pumps needing no mains power (source 4); speeds over 24 feet per minute needing better reduction and single-phase supply not reaching catalogue speed (source 6); monthly lubrication and hydraulic oil every 12 months (source 7); unloaded servicing (source 8); 30–50% screw mechanical advantage (source 2).
- Positions: source 4 is an online store, sources 5–8 are makers or makers’ manuals, sources 1 and 2 are multi-author encyclopedia entries; none is a standard or third-party test report. Sources are in English; units are given as in the sources or converted in the text.
- Scope: a selection overview; aerial work platforms carrying people, forklifts and fixed lifts are out of scope, as are model cross-references, prices and lead times; no claim of conformity to any standard, and no general values for battery capacity or charging time. The safety stage only reports what the sources say; for additional safety check items, confirm with our sales and quality teams.
- “How JIAHON can help”: figures and statements were read from product page text on 13 October 2026, without product images or data sheets, and were not independently verified; specifications follow the product pages, and anything not stated is available on request. Material, brand and promotional wording on the pages is not used. Product page figures are partly factory specifications and partly usage suggestions and are not directly comparable with the source examples.
This is a general overview, not a restatement of any standard, and not an endorsement of any maker, equipment builder or service provider, nor an assurance about your equipment or site. Follow your site rules, the equipment maker’s written specifications and safety rules, and your own verification; individual cases vary.